Sausage, Apple & Potato Traybake – and the arrival of autumn

Oh hey!

I’m currently stood in my kitchen, wearing a maroon, v-necked jumper, and some exceptionally cosy slippers. This morning, the gunmetal grey sky had me reaching for my trusty leather jacket, that as soon as I stepped outside I knew I needed. And throughout the day I’ve read two separate news articles, one detailing how we’re set for months of snow and bitterly cold winds, the other commenting on the heatwave that we’re about to have over the weekend, with temperatures soaring to the twenties (well above the seasonal average, so I’ve been told).

So, whilst it gently drizzles outside, the light of the day gradually fading, I have decided that autumn has arrived, and I love it! It is the only season where I can walk through the town centre and see people in jeans and sandals, and jackets and boots, both looking equally as confused as the other as to what they should have worn out of the house.

Maybe I will spend the weekend running out to the supermarket to grab up a box of lollies, but for today, I’m basking in the autumn glory of crunchy leaves, cosy nights in with big Yankee Candles that smell of cinnamon, a pink fluffy blanket, and a truly autumn dinner cooking away…!

If you want to make something similar, you’re gonna need:

  • Oven set as 200 degrees/gas mark 6
  • An apple, cored and sliced into wedges  
  • A potato, peeled and sliced into wedges
  • Carrots, peeled and sliced into wedges
  • A couple of your favourite sausages each
  • Yorkshire puds (I use the frozen ones that you can just whack in the oven for five mins at the end)
  • Lotsa lotsa gravy

Now you’ll need to:

  • Pop the potatoes onto a baking tray, drizzle on some sunflower oil and stick them in the oven for 10mins, until they start to cook.
  • Then add the sausages, apple and carrots, and cook for another 25-30mins – until the sausages are golden brown and the potatoes have gone a tiny bit crispy.
  • 5mins before the end, pop in the Yorkshire Puds.
  • When all cooked, serve with lashings of gravy, and some mixed veg if you’re feeling particularly healthy.
(recipe idea and credit goes to the lovely people behind the Tesco food family living mag, but I may have put my own spin on it)

This should  make your belly feel all loved and warm and full, but if you want to finish it off with something yummy and squidgy and chocolatey then I’m not gonna judge!

Leave a Reply

